My 3 day maths diary

26 Jan

Monday 22.1.12

I used maths to help with the shopping. We brought a broom stick that cost 3.50 and some flash that cost 3.50 so both of them cost 7.00. I also used maths to tell when I was going to sleep.

Tuesday 23.1.12

I used maths to tell when I was going to school. I also used maths to help Georgia with her maths homework and to tell when I was going to bed.

Wednesday 24.1.12

I used maths to tell when I was going to school and to tell when Abigail was leaving my house also to tell when it was the end of fantastic Mr fox. I also used maths to tell when I was going to sleep.

3 Responses to “My 3 day maths diary”

  1. Mr. Holdsworth January 26, 2012 at 9:12 pm #

    I am glad to hear that you are helping others with their work Lara. 🙂

    You have much to offer other learners.

  2. Mr Gutkowski January 26, 2012 at 10:18 pm #

    Interesting post here Year 4, I have never realised quite how often I use maths. On my way to school I looked at the petrol prices and worked out how much fuel I would get for £20. This was quite a brain teaser for me, but I could not have done it without maths.

    My alarm clock also required me to use maths to set the right time and set my alarm to ring after I had slept for 8 hours.

    The more I think about it the more I realise I can’t live without it. I look forward to sharing this with my Year 3 class.

    Mr Gutkowski
    Year 3
    Princeville Primary School
    Bradford

  3. Ross Mannell January 28, 2012 at 4:13 am #

    Hello Lara,

    Maths is involved in many things we do each day. Keeping a maths diary reminds us of what mathematical skills we have used.

    @RossMannell
    Teacher, NSW, Australia

Leave a comment